gasildebt.blogg.se

Joomla rss feed reader
Joomla rss feed reader










joomla rss feed reader

#Joomla rss feed reader how to#

How to set up RSS-to-email in GetResponse? What exactly is RSS? That’s where RSS-to-email services come in. However, with so many blogs out there, it can be challenging to get your content in front of the right audience. I still think using a custom HTML module is the best way to go.Blogging has become a popular way for people to share their knowledge and connect with others online. I found a few contenders, but judging from the comments, none looked like they were worth the hassle. UPDATE: I did a search on the Joomla Extensions Directory for a Feedburner plugin/module that might automate grabbing your Feedburner links. Just let me know if anyone has any questions. I did post a last message on the old feed that contained the address of the new feed, but who knows if anyone bothered to switch over?Īt least now I’ve got some tracking and stats running so I can keep an eye on things and properly gauge the effect of my RSS feed. I have no idea how many subscribers I had at first that may not have followed the trail to the new feed. My advice is not to screw it up first like I did and get it right from the start. I was pretty worried for awhile but after about 2 hours it started working the way I expected. One thing I noticed, when I closed down my first Joomla feed and switched over to the new feed it seemed to take awhile for my reader (I use Google Reader) to catch up to the change. In this module you can add any HTML you want to and just style it up as necessary to make it fit the look of your site.Īs you can see on my novel site I threw in an RSS icon just to make it that much more obvious to people. Instead, I had to set up a custom HTML module by going to Extensions>Module Manager, then clicking the New button on the top right and choosing “custom” at the bottom. The Ninja one is only good for getting your feed into Feedburner. What you’ll want to do is show your Feedburner RSS link instead of the one provided by Ninja. Very useful stuff.īack in Joomla, Ninja RSS has a module where you can automatically show your feed link. Feedburner breaks out all kinds of info, such as Popular Feed Items, number of views and clicks, browser use/operating system use or which type of Feed Reader they use. Once you log into Feedburner and paste in the url that Ninja provides, Feedburner will recognize it and start tracking the subscriptions for you. Use the feed url indicated in the red area of the picture. Use the link listed under the ‘Feed Url’ heading in the ‘Feeds’ tab of the Ninja RSS Syndicator component. The important thing is that Feedburner DOES accept these feed urls, so you’re now in business.

joomla rss feed reader

The main thing we’re looking for here is the format of the url that Ninja RSS generates. Still, there’s no tracking or stats provided by the Ninja RSS either, so you’re still left in the dark about your subscribers. The default Joomla Syndication module really only allows you to pick by menu item. In there, you’ve got a few more options regarding the format/display of the feed and which sections/categories to include and exclude. This one shows up under the Component menu once installed. I made sure to disable the default Joomla Syndication module (Extensions>Module Manager>Syndication). So I installed this one to see what it could do for me. That way was provided by a Joomla extension called Ninja RSS Syndicator. Obviously I needed another way to create the RSS feed. WTF does that mean? Who knows, but it won’t work. I kept getting an error like this:Īn error occurred connecting to the URL: unknown protocol: feed:

joomla rss feed reader

The only problem is, Feedburner doesn’t really like the format of the default Joomla RSS feeds. Using Feedburner is going to give you a lot more information about the people who are actually subscribing to your feed(s). Then I thought about Feedburner (now owned by Google), which of course provides RSS for many major websites out there. This works but it’s really a bargain-basement solution in that it doesn’t provide you with any stats or information about your subscribers. Initially, I just used the built in Joomla Syndication module to provide the RSS feed. Here’s one I recently wrangled with while trying to get my novel site True Tales of the Soryan Order, built with Joomla, set up for RSS.












Joomla rss feed reader